My dreams

I will have to live with mental health issues for the rest of my life. It’s been hard, but I’ve come to accept that they’re part of me, and there’s no cure, only management.

It means that many of my dreams are no longer realistic. Unless I get myself REALLY stable, I can’t go into teaching like I’ve wanted to do since high school. My dreams of being an academic in the university system seem almost out of reach, given how much I struggle now. I don’t know if they’ll ever come back.

It’s time for new dreams and ambitions. I have to find a new path, and I don’t know where to start. I’ve been working toward the goal of either teaching or academia for several years, and looking elsewhere is difficult.

The one thing I desperately want to do with my life is to find a way to improve the mental health system, so that people like me have a better chance at living a normal life. I don’t know how, I don’t know where to start, but I’ll find something.

Someone has to stand up and make the changes happen. I want to be that someone. I’ll find a way some day.

3 thoughts on “My dreams

  1. purplegr3mlin

    I refuse to let my mental health issues stand in my way of doing what I want. There’s always a way.

    I also want to be that someone, we need to make a change, any way we can.

    Reply
  2. aviets

    You’re awesome – love your attitude. And I hope you don’t give up on your original dreams just yet – who knows what the future may hold? Could be something a little different but exponentially better. Whatever path you take, I predict success in the end. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Wombat Post author

      I haven’t given up entirely, but I need to be realistic about what it will take for me to be able to do these things. Teaching requires me to be stable and reliable long-term, which is a bit of a distant goal, and academia requires the same. Meanwhile I need to think about what I can do while I’m working toward stability. I can’t just sit around and vegetate while I try to become well – that’s wildly counterproductive. I just don’t know what to do yet. Graduating is my first step – probably another year and a half’s work as I’ve dropped to part-time so I have more time spare in case anything goes wrong. After that I need a plan. Not sure what that will be yet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

