Self-help – Exercise

Mental illness is not treated by just medication and therapy – self-care is also an important part. The ways you live and care for yourself have a big impact on how well you can be. The things that are usually brought up are diet and exercise.

With this in mind, I’m joining a gym tomorrow. I’ve always loved going to the gym, I love how it makes me feel. It’s also a part of the fight against the weight that I’ve been gaining. Being comfortable in my own skin always helps improve my mental state, and doing something active to help me feel comfortable with my body will (in theory) help me feel better in my mind.

Many days I just don’t feel like leaving the house. I’ve made a promise to myself that I will go to the gym every day. I don’t have to go in the doors, just take myself down there, and if I still really don’t want to go in, I give myself permission to go home again. I’m pretty sure that just the act of getting my gear together and going down there will help motivate me to go in.

So, there’s the newest step in my self-help plan. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Self-help – Exercise

  1. Carrie Lange

    exercise will definitely help you feel better. And part of it, is simply the boost to your self-confidence that you will feel at actually DOING it. It makes you feel proud of yourself, plus then you get the added benefits of endorphines and all that jazz about the benefits of a healthier body. 😉

    I found the key to success is to not expect TOO much of yourself too fast, though. After years of vowing to go to a gym, or areobics class, or a stringent home exercise routine, and then not following through would make me feel even worse about myself.

    I set myself a reasonable goal of taking my dogs on a short walk several days a week. After I got into that routine, I changed it to every day. Then, the walks became longer and longer until now I’m at a point where me and my son actually have to drive them to a place where we take about a 2 mile walk in an area that the dogs can be off their leashes, running around free and happy. The combination of being with my son in a beautiful place in nature, having happy dogs running around my feet, AND the exercise all work together to increase my happiness level.

    I think my next step will be to add ankle and wrist weights… but what ever the change, it will be gradual and easy, and that’s been the key to me sticking with it. good luck to you! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

