It Makes Me Angry That Anyone Still Has To Fight This Battle

Mental illness is different from many other illnesses, and for one sad reason – because people just don’t accept that it’s real, or worthy of the term ‘illness’. It’s all in your head, you can think your way out, I have bad days and I get over them, you should too.

I cannot think my way out of my illness any more than someone in a wheelchair can think their way out of it. What goes on in my head is just as real as what happens to the body of a diabetic or a cancer patient, and at times it can be just as crippling.

I am giving my life my best shot, and every time someone discounts mental illness for any reason, it hurts me. Every time someone tells me that I need to get over myself, that I’m being selfish, that I need to harden up, or that I need to stop doing this to the people I love, I know of one more person not to trust. I will think less of them for thinking less of me over something that is out of my control.

I did not choose to be abused. I did not choose to have my mind crumble under the pressure of a life that didn’t do me many favours. I’m making do with a damaged mind. And I do not deserve to be discounted because my scars are not physical.

4 thoughts on “It Makes Me Angry That Anyone Still Has To Fight This Battle

  1. Leslie's Illusions

    You are so right. Once a friend asked me “On your bad days would it help if you think about your family?” I asked her, “The last time you had a bad, bad toothache, did thinking about your family make it any better?”

    Reply
  2. depressionbloggers

    There are an awful lot of people in this world who are completely unable to imagine what it might be like to live in another person’s shoes. And a great many of those simply don’t even care what it might be like to be someone else. Add that to the overwhelming stigma and misunderstanding of mental illness and you get a lot of totally stupid and unhelpful comments/attitudes. I hope you can take a bit of comfort in the fact that there are also quite a few people out there, though, who do care and do empathize,

    Reply
    1. Wombat Post author

      I’ve learned to expect the worst out of people, so that when I come across someone who is not hell-bent on not understanding, it’s a happy surprise. And I do get quite a few happy surprises.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

