What Do You Do For A Racing Heart?

Today I got a message from someone who rather upsets me. I try not to have contact with this person, but unfortunately that’s not always possible. It affected my whole day, sent my mood down the toilet, and had me off getting a new phone number.

The first thing that happens when this person (and a few others that upset me in various ways) contacts me is that my heart rate skyrockets. It feels like it’s trying to beat its way out of my chest. And I have no idea what to do about it.

My various mental health people have told me that it’s anxiety that causes this, and that I need to learn how to break the cycle so I can cope. But what I really want to know is how to slow that racing heart. It’s a pretty strong physical reaction to an emotional stimulus, and I honestly have no idea how to stop it. I try to breathe slowly can calmly, I try to distract myself, but it doesn’t seem to matter what I do, that racing heart just will not quit. It takes anywhere from ten minutes to an hour before it goes back to normal.

Even if I deal with stressors like what happened today relatively well, I still find the physical symptoms of my heart racing, coupled with a good dose of shaking, very difficult to cope with. But I honestly have no idea how to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

