New Medication Combination

I’ve got a new lineup of white pills of varying sized. I’m not sure about them, but I have to try everything, right?

The first new one is bupropion. I’ve been on it a couple of weeks. It’s supposed to be stimulating, but it just makes me sleepy. No other effects as yet, except a regular headache about an hour after I take it.

The other new med is lithium. I’m honestly not sure what I think about it. It’s an old drug, one that’s been proven to work over the last fifty or so years. But it’s not a friendly drug. The difference between therapeutic and toxic doses is very close, so much so that if I get very active on a hot summer’s day, the dehydration could concentrate the lithium in my blood to toxic levels. I need to drink a lot of water while on it, and it will make me pee a lot. It can affect thyroid function, leading to hypothyroidism and all they joys that entails. Long-term, it can affect my kidneys. To keep an eye on all this, I’ll need to have regular blood tests to watch the lithium levels and to check my kidney and thyroid function. Fun.

It’s a scary drug, an old drug that has some very real dangers. But if it works, if it lifts me out of this misery, maybe it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

