Lithium and Painkillers

Lithium is a drug that doesn’t play nice with many others. And one of the drug classes it doesn’t play nice with are the NSAIDs – non-steroidal anti-inflammatories. Things like ibuprofen and voltaren.

I broke my wrists and did some serious tendon damage in December. I’m mostly healed up now, but every so often I’ll have a flare of pain. Like tonight. The solution is a combination of paracetamol, ibuprofen, and cold packs. It takes the edge off pretty reliably, so I can cope with it without much bother.

Well, it turns out that removing the ibuprofen from the cocktail makes a pretty decent difference. And I hurt rather a lot.

Thanks, lithium. I hope you’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

