Distress Tolerance Exercises

I’ve been going to a psychologist for a few weeks now, and last week she gave me my first exercise to try out. I’m not too sure about it.

The exercise involves looking out the window when I’m feeling distressed. I’m to count all the shade of green I see, followed by all the shades of blue, red, and yellow. I’m to notice all the moving things – mostly birds in my case. I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do after that.

When I look out my window, there’s a myriad shades of green. The thought of trying to count them all sends me into a panic, because there’s so many, and if I lose count I’ll have to start all over again, and I’ll probably miss some, and count others twice. It’s not supposed to be that hard, but it makes me very tense and panicky.

I don’t know the purpose of this exercise. When I asked, I got a spiel on what distress is (which didn’t really help me much), but no reason for what I’m supposed to be doing. I like to know the reasons behind my treatment, otherwise I feel a lot of internal resistance to doing what I’m supposed to be doing.

The psychologist says that I’ll have to try a lot of things, and that some of them will fail. I think this might be one of the less successful exercises.

One thought on “Distress Tolerance Exercises

  1. Pingback: Distress Tolerance Exercise Post-mortem | Drop Bear Exterminator

Leave a Reply

